What started the spanish american war?

In 1898, Cuba was in the midst of a civil war. The USN Maine, a battleship, was sent to Cuba to protect American interests in Cuba. There was an explosion ( some say the ship hit a mine, some say the ship's boiler exploded) and the ship sank, America blamed Cuba, and the war began.