Do you need a real i. d. to fly on a plane?

Beginning May 3, 2023, all travelers age 18 and over will be required to have a Real ID-compliant drivers license/state identification card or passport to board domestic flights. Real ID-compliant cards are marked with a star at the top of the card.

---

Beginning May 3, 2023, every air traveler 18 years of age and older will need a REAL ID-compliant driver's license or identification card, state-issued enhanced driver's license, or another TSA-acceptable form of identification at airport security checkpoints for domestic air travel.