Is there such thing as quicksand?

Quicksand is what’s known as a non-Newtonian fluid, it is somewhat common near rivers, estuaries, and marshes. It is a mixture of sand and water, or sand and air, that looks solid, but becomes unstable when disturbed by any additional stress, such as when you happen to stumble onto it.