What does proport mean?

According to Oxford Languages, to proport means to appear or claim to be or do something, especially falsely; profess, Or the meaning or substance of something, typically a document or speech.

---

Purport can mean two different things depending on whether it is used as a verb or a noun. When used as a verb it means to pretend. For example, to act as if one knows something, but they don’t. When used as a noun, it can move used as a synonym for the “substance” or “subject” of something.