What was the first teddy bear made?

On February 15, 1903, toy store owner and inventor Morris Michtom placed two stuffed bears in his shop window, advertising them as Teddy bears. The name came from Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt, the US President who had recently refused to shoot a young bear who was tied to a tree.