What can i substitute for milk in a recipe?

Your best options depend on the recipe. You could use an equal amount of water in place of milk. Or you could mix another dairy product with water, such as plain unsweetened yogurt, sour cream, half and half, or cream. In some recipes, some water and some butter might be better than water alone.