What color is dorothy's hair in the wizard of oz?

Dorothy Gale (played by Judy Garland) in "Wizard of Oz" had brown hair in braids. But early on, the movie's production Garland had a long blonde wig. In L. Frank Baum's original book, Dorothy is portrayed as blonde.