When was the venus flytrap discovered?

On 2 April 1759, the North Carolina colonial governor, Arthur Dobbs, penned the first written description of the plant. In the letter he wrote: "We have a kind of Catch Fly Sensitive which closes upon anything that touches it. It grows in Latitude 34 but not in 35. I will try to save the seed here."