What is the movie the ghost and mr chicken about?

The Ghost and Mr. Chicken, the 1966 movie staring Don Knots and Joan Staley, was about a typesetter who wanted to be a reporter. He is give the chance for a real story - by spending a night in a haunted house - and help solve a murder mastery.