Where is stay golden ponyboy from?

As he lies dying in Chapter 9, Johnny Cade speaks these words to Ponyboy. “Stay gold” is a reference to the Robert Frost poem that Ponyboy recites to Johnny when the two hide out in the Windrixville Church.“Nothing gold can stay,” meaning that all good things must come to an end