Is brandy the same thing as cognac?

Cognac vs. Brandy: A few properties distinguish these two alcohols from each other. Brandy is gotten from distilled fruit mash and can be from grapes, apples, pears, etc. However, Cognac is made from white grapes. Cognacs are prepared in the Cognac region of France. Brandy is of Dutch origin.