What's the substitute for sweetened condensed milk?

Evaporated milk is a good substitute. For a home made version of condensed milk, combine 1 (12 ounce) can of evaporated milk, 1 cup of granulated sugar, and ½ cup of brown sugar together in a saucepan. Whisk together over medium low heat, then heat to a simmer and cook until thick, 15 to 20 minutes.