How far does a hummingbird travel?

Many Ruby-throated Hummingbirds travel more than 2,000 miles to go from Panama to their breeding destination in Canada. People wonder how these birds fly 500 miles nonstop across the Gulf of Mexico during both their spring and fall migrations.