When did the i. r. s. come into being?

The IRS originates from the Commissioner of Internal Revenue, a federal office created in 1862 to assess the nation's first income for the Civil War. In 1913, the 16th Amendment was ratified authorizing a tax on income & the Bureau of Internal Revenue was created. In 1953, it was renamed the IRS.