Who is the woman in the mona lisa?

Many thought that Leonardo da Vinci painted a portrait of Lisa del Giocondo. She was born in Florence, Italy. Lisa del Giocondo was the wife of Francesco del Giocondo, a successful cloth and silk merchant.