Is puerto rico a common wealth?

No, some people began to call Puerto Rico a commonwealth in 1952 after Congress approved its local constitution, the “Constitution of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico". It's often called a commonwealth, but that is actually just a word in the official title of the government of Puerto Rico.