How long does it take for nail polish to dry?

Generally, it takes one to two hours before nail polish is completely dry, especially if you've used a base coat, two coats of nail polish and a topcoat. Formaldehyde-free polishes take more time to dry. Many nail polish dryers allow you to use your hands 5 to 15 minutes after polish is applied.