Why can't astronauts burp in space?

Air is lighter than solids and liquids, which is why it rises in your stomach and you can easily burp up gas on Earth. The lack of gravity in space means the air in astronauts' stomachs doesn't separate from ingested food, so burping could expel more than just gas.