Does matcha have caffeine?

Yes, but since it's a form of green tea, it contains less than black tea, which has less than coffee.

---

Matcha contains roughly 25mg of caffeine, which is approximately one-fifth the caffeine of a cup of brewed coffee from Starbucks

---

Yes. Matcha is a type of green tea, and green tea contains caffeine. Because Matcha is made from crushed whole tea leaves, the caffeine content is somewhat higher than that of bagged tea. In fact, the Matcha caffeine levels can actually equal half the level of a black cup of coffee.