What is the point of stop drop and roll?

If your clothes catch fire, stop, drop and roll. Stop, drop to the ground, and cover your face with your hands. Roll over and over or back and forth until the fire is out. If you cannot stop, drop and roll, keep a blanket or towel nearby to help you or others smother flames.