Is peter cottontail the easter bunny?

In 1971, Rankin-Bass Productions produced a stop motion animated television special called "Here Comes Peter Cottontail", which popularized the idea that the Easter Bunny is named Peter Cottontail. However, there is no universal agreement on the name of the Easter Bunny.