What is the origin of cockpit?

The word cockpit seems to have been used as a nautical term in the 17th century, without reference to cock fighting. It referred to an area in the rear of a ship where the cockswain's station was located. The cockswain was the pilot of any smaller boat stored within the larger ship, like a yacht.