Where did the phrase peeping tom come from?

It is believed to have originated from the legend of Lady Godiva's naked ride through the streets of Coventry in England. She did so to persuade her husband to relieve the harsh taxes on the town's poor. The townsfolk agreed not to observe her as she passed by, but "peeping tom" hid & spied on her.