What do humans come from?

Modern humans, called Homo sapiens, evolved from more primitive animal species over hundreds of thousands of years. Modern humans first evolved in Africa, from earlier species named Homo erectus, Homo ergaster, Homo habalis, and Homo heidelbergensis, among others. Our exact lineage is not yet clear.