Where did shiplap come from?

Shiplap was originally used to refer to thin wood boards that have two opposing rabbet joints that overlap each other, giving the boards a tight seal to keep the wind and weather out. For interior walls, shiplap was the standard base behind a classic wallpaper install before drywall was invented.