What does the word beta mean?

the second letter of the Greek alphabet (Β, β), transliterated as ‘b.’. denoting the second of a series of items, categories, forms of a chemical compound, etc.. "beta carotene" · [more] informal short for beta test. "their database system is currently in beta" · [more]