When did gene autry sing rudolph the red nosed reindeer?

Gene Autry recorded the song Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer, by Johnny Marks, for Columbia Records on June 27, 1949, which was released September 1, 1949, and hit No. 1 on the U.S. charts the week of Christmas 1949. It is based on the 1939 book published by the Montgomery Ward Company.