How was barbra streisand discovered?

Barbara Streisand was discovered by a broadway producer and was hired to appear in the musical, I Can Get It for You Wholesale, in March of 1962. She became very popular in her larger second role as the comedian and singer Fanny Brice in the Broadway production of Funny Girl in 1964.