What's the difference between gelato and ice cream?

Similar to ice cream, gelato is made from a custard base of milk, cream, and sugar. The difference lies in the proportions of each with gelato having more milk (and less cream) compared to ice cream. Gelato also doesn't usually contain egg yolks the way that ice cream does.