Where did the hamburger originate?

Meat, minced & formed into patties to cook quickly, dates back to the 12th century Mongols. US factory workers were served these German Hamburg steak from food carts in the early 1900s. Since it proved difficult to eat while standing, they sandwiched the meat patty between two slices of bread.