What happened to malaysia airlines flight seventeen?

Malaysia Airlines flight MH17, was a passenger airliner that was shot down in eastern Ukraine on July 17, 2014. All 298 people on board, died in the crash. Investigators concluded a surface to air missle used by the Russian Rebels thinking it was a Ukrainian transport plane.