What does bad omen mean in minecraft?

The Bad Omen effect is a status effect that causes a group of hostile mobs to spawn and attack when a player with the Bad Omen effect enters a village. ... A player can be inflicted with the Bad Omen status effect by killing an illager patrol leader.