What are u. s. protectorates?

A protectorate is a state that is controlled and protected by another sovereign state. The following countries are considered as US Protectorates: Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands, US Minor Outlying Islands, Guam, American Samoa and Northern Mariana Islands.