Is corn bread made out of corn?

Cornmeal is produced by grinding dry raw corn grains. A coarser meal made from corn is grits. Grits are produced by soaking raw corn grains in hot water containing calcium hydroxide which loosens the grain hulls (bran) and increases the nutritional value of the product.