How do i make hot chocolate from scratch?

¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder, ½ cup granulated sugar, ⅓ cup hot water, ⅛ teaspoon salt, 4 cups milk, 1 tsp vanilla extract. Mix all ingredients except milk and vanilla in saucepan and bring to a simmer. Add milk, mix well & warm, but do not boil. Remove from heat & add vanilla. Serve in mugs.