Why is pound cake called pancake?

Pound cake and pancake are different and not the same. A pancake is a flat cake prepared from a starch-based batter and cooked on a hot surface such as a griddle or frying pan, often frying with oil or butter. Pound cakes are generally baked in either a loaf pan or a Bundt mold