Why did the u. s. enter the persian gulf war?

The United States was one of several allied countries that fought in the Persian Gulf War. Military operations begun after Iraqi leader Saddam Hussein ignored multiple deadlines to withdraw his forces from Kuwait, Iraq's neighbor to the south.