Are humans related to bananas?

Even though they grow on trees, bananas share some similar DNA with humans, so like fifth cousins, but they won't show up on your family tree.

---

Many of the “housekeeping” genes that are necessary for basic cellular function, such as for replicating DNA, controlling the cell cycle, and helping cells divide are shared between bananas and humans.