How many cards are dealt in canasta?

Each player is dealt 15 cards. A player cannot go out unless he has completed 2 canastas. If the player draws from the stock, he draws 2 cards, but only discards 1. If there is only 1 card remaining in the stock, the last player can draw it and continue as though he drew 2 cards. That is legal play.