Why do minions wear goggles?

I assume you are referring to the fictitious little yellow cartoon characters from the 2010 movie Despicable Me? In the movie, the Minions were created as laboratory assistants for the evil inventor Gru. Laboratory workers commonly wear goggles, therefore it would be appropriate attire for Minions