What is the tax filing deadline?

Generally, April 15 is the official deadline for filing your federal income tax return each year, but that date isn't carved in stone. The deadline moves to the next business day when April 15 falls on a Saturday, a Sunday, or a legal holiday, and other national events can shift it as well.