When was couscous invented?

Historically when was couscous invented is unclear, but according to the food historian, Charles Perry, couscous originated among the Berbers of Algeria and Morocco between the end of the 11th-century Zirid dynasty and the rise of the 13th-century Almohad Caliphate.