What does neo western mean?

Neo-western describes a subgenre of film, consisting of modern variations of old western themes. This subgenre often includes rebellious protagonists of the anti-hero sort, vast landscapes, and rugged scenery, and occasionally features a strong dose of violence and gun-fighting.