Is there such thing as a phoenix?

In Ancient Greek folklore, a phoenix is a long-lived bird that cyclically regenerates or is otherwise born again. Associated with the sun, a phoenix obtains new life by arising from the ashes of its predecessor.

---

The only phoenix that actually exists is the capital of Arizona. The mythical bird that can die and then rise again from its flames exists only in legend.