What year did facebook buy instagram?

Facebook bought the photo-sharing app for 1 billion dollars in 2012.

---

When Facebook made a bid to buy Instagram in 2012 for a record-setting $1 billion, many people thought Mark Zuckerberg was making a mistake. But purchasing Instagram turned out to be one of the best tech acquisitions of all time, helping secure Facebook's dominance in social media for years to come.