What year did elvis become famous?

In 1956 Elvis Presley was on a roll, scoring his first No. 1 single with "Heartbreak Hotel," as well as his first No. 1 album, "Elvis Presley", and signing a movie contract with Paramount Pictures. In that year he also became a popular guest on a number of television variety shows.