Why do dogs like sniffing butts?

A butt sniff for dogs is like a handshake for humans.They have a special part of their noses called the Jacobson's organ that lets them ignore the smell of poop when they sniff another dog’s rear.Special glands release chemicals that helps a dog know if they’ve met before.