What kind of liquor is galliano?

Galliano is a mixture of herbs & alcohol, including star anise, anise, juniper, lavender, cinnamon and vanilla. The resulting liqueur is sweetened and then colored, to result in a very smooth, balanced liqueur, which can be used in a variety of drinks like an Old Fashioned or Wallbanger.