When did the naruto anime start?

Naruto's anime started in 2002 in Japan and ran until 2007, with the English dub running from 2005 until 2009 in the US. The sequel series, Naruto: Shippuden premiered in Japan in 2007 and ran until 2017, while the English dub started in 2009 and still runs today on Adult Swim in the US.