How is red velvet cake different from chocolate cake?

Red Velvet cake is typically made with cocoa powder, red food coloring, and buttermilk. Chocolate cake is typically made with cocoa powder and milk. The main difference is the chemical reaction that occurs when mixing the cocoa powder and slightly acidic buttermilk.

---

Chocolate and red velvet cakes have different textures. Chocolate cake is often dense and moist, while red velvet cake is typically lighter and more tender. This is due in part to the use of buttermilk and vinegar in red velvet cake, which help to create a softer, more tender bite.